Arthur Ravenel Bridge

National Voter Registration Act Agencies

Congress enacted the National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (also known as the "NVRA" and the "Motor Voter Act"), to enhance voting opportunities for every American. The Act has made it easier for all Americans to register to vote and to maintain their registration.  The Act requires states to offer voter registration opportunities at all offices that provide public assistance and all offices that provide state-funded programs primarily engaged in providing services to persons with disabilities.

In South Carolina, the following locations provide voter registration under the NVRA:

  • Armed Forces Recruiting Stations
  • Commission for the Blind
  • Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
  • Department of Disabilities and Special Needs
  • Department of Health and Environmental Control
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Mental Health
  • Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Department of Social Services
  • Protection and Advocacy for People with Disabilities
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Department